Oshi no Ko mini review

Well, I’m back from my unintended hiatus lol. I guess I just got busy with my job after the last review, and forgot to update this site. D:. I have still been writing some things on My Figure Collection, though, so I’ll likely be cross posting those soon.

I’ve also decided to add figure reviews here, as that’s mostly what I review these days. Until my stupid neck issues stop and I can actually use my freaking Roku, I can’t watch too much anime (the Roku is in my room, and I don’t have a chair. So I have to uncomfortably sit up for 2 hours or so. It does hurt. I’m going to a different dr soon for this, and I’m supposed to be going to a good PT, so this hopefully will go away soon. Or at least it’ll hopefully be reasonable enough where I can use my freaking Roku LOL. I wish I had room for a chair, as that would solve all my issues). Though I do still read manga, and will be reviewing that as I finish it. I’m nearly done with New Game, so expect a review from that soon.

At any rate, I do have a quick review for you. I don’t typically review episode 1s or book 1s of manga, but given this one is a special nearly movie length episode, I’ll make an exception, as it’s equivalent to episode 3.

Here’s a short review of the first episode of Oshi no Ko.

Oshi no Ko is written by the same person who made another favorite series (manga in my case LOL.), Kaguya-sama: Love is War, Aka Akasaka. Since this is the anime, the artist doesn’t apply, but it’s drawn by Mengo Yokoyari. As such, it was a must watch for me, even with my issues. I used screen share from my phone to watch it, because I wanted to see it so badly lol.

At any rate, here’s a very base summary:

Gynecologist Gorou Amemiya is tasked with the job of delivering idol Ai Hoshino’s twin babies. Given she’s an idol, this is supposed to be a secret, as if it gets out, her career is basically over. Gorou is already a fan of hers, thanks to a patient he had in the past, so this is considered a big deal to him.

The night the twins are supposed to be born, Gorou is murdered by an obsessive fan of Ai’s (neither the anime or manga specify WHY, as the fan doesn’t know of the babies yet), and Gorou is reborn as one of Ai’s twins, Aqua Hoshino. The other is revealed to be the patient who introduced Ai’s music to Gorou, Sarina (now Ruby Hoshino)

The rest of the episode mostly explores Ai trying to make it as an idol while raising her twins, and shows how hard it can be. It also shows Aqua has a talent for acting, while Ruby has talent that can lead her to also becoming an idol.

The episode ends with the same obsessive fan murdering Ai because of her babies, and Aqua vowing to seek revenge against the person who told the crazy fan about Ai’s children.

I am so sorry I had to give that spoiler at the end, but it’s essential to summarize the series and episode >_<;.

At any rate, this episode is a really good introduction to the series. We get to know about the characters, there are no slow points, the music is great, and there is actually even some character development with the manager’s wife, who goes from finding the children a nuisance to loving them like her own children, and even the kids get a bit of character development when they find their talents. The voice acting seems good (I only say seems because I don’t know Japanese, but it had no annoying voices, and the reactions to the situations going on were appropriate), and the animation was gorgeous.

I’ve also read volume 1 of the manga, and as far as I can tell, this episode was very faithful to the source. But seeing it animated does actually add a lot to it in this case (you get to hear Ai’s music, and actually get to see what’s going on and feel what the characters are feeling), so I recommend watching the anime even if you read the manga.

I’m really looking forward to episode 2 tomorrow, and am looking forward to Yen FINALLY releasing volume 2 next month. It’s really freaking slow, especially for a manga that has eleven volumes in Japan. >_<;.

At any rate, my rating is 4/5 stars so far. Definitely check it out.

Leave a comment